Dedication for over 110 years
2008  |  2009  |  2010  |  2011  |  2013  |  2014  |  2016

LOCAL 24 ELECTIONS - THURS., 9/1/16 2:00 - 5:30 P.M. - (8/24/2016)

The Union will conduct its secret ballot General Election on Thursday, September 1, 2016 at our Hall.  The Union Hall is located at 901 Montgomery St, Laurel, Maryland.  The polls will be open from 2 pm to 5:30 pm.  Elections will be held in accordance with the Constitution and By-Laws of the International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Asbestos Workers Article XX and Article VIII of the Local Autonomy provisions.  In the event that a run-off becomes necessary, the run-off will be held at our October Union Meeting.


Article V of our Joint Trade Agreement with the ICA states: “All eligible members voting on the day of the general election of the Union must be paid for two additional hours provided the employee worked the entire regular shift or work day before the election. The two additional hours shall include only wages; no benefit payments are required to be contributed. The Local Union is to furnish the Employers a list of mechanics who vote.” This provision also covers members working for other signatory contractors.


In order to be eligible to vote, every Mechanic must be in good standing with the Union and must have his or her dues paid up through the month of June, 2016.  Reminder letters, suspension letters, and lapse letters will be mailed out prior to Election Day.  Any member wishing to vote may pay his or her delinquent dues at any time prior to receiving a ballot.


Anyone requesting an absentee ballot shall follow Article XX, Section 12 of our Constitution and By-Laws.  Written requests for absentee ballots must be received ten (10) days prior to the election.  The request must be mailed, faxed or emailed to the Corresponding Secretary, c/o the office manager at the Union Hall.  (Email: or Fax (301) 725-0804)  The ballot must be received at the designated PO Box by Election Day to be counted.  Once a member requests an absentee ballot, he/she must vote in the election only by that means. Members may apply in person for an absentee ballot within the 10 day period prior to Election Day.  Any member receiving an in person absentee ballot must vote at the Union Hall immediately after receiving the ballot.  In person absentee ballot voting ends at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, August 31, 2016.

At the August 11, 2016 Union Meeting, the following nominations were made:

Business Manager:  (3 yr. term)

· Lino Cressotti (unopposed) 

Vice President – (3 yr. term)

· Robert “Opie” McCourt (unopposed)

Executive Board: 2 openings, 2 year term each

· Roberto Diaz

· Jim Hoos

· Cody Pugh

Sergeant-at-Arms:  (3 yr. term)

· Mark Topolski (unopposed)

Medical Trustee: 1 opening, 3 year term

· Lino Cressotti (unopposed)

Pension Trustee: 1 opening, 3 year term

· Brian Cavey (unopposed)

Delegates to 2017 Convention:

· Tony Cockrell

· Jim Hoos

· Jon Potter

· Cody Pugh

·       Edwin Recinos


Additionally, the September 1, 2016 union meeting will be a Special Called meeting 

for the purpose of discussing and voting on the $1.10 per hour increase due October 1, 2016 

per the 2015 ICA Contract.  

Show All News Headlines